Sticky and skinny brownie bars

Sticky skinny brownie bars

When in a hurry and in need of a chocolate, sugary fix but preferably a healthy one: These babies are the answer to your cravings. Raw brownies made with the healthiest ingredients, so they are totally beach – and bikini body proof.

Better to munch on these than to devour the real fat-ass, gross brownie-deal. But I don’t need to tell you guys that, right?

I prepped these the night before and they gave me a warm (mmkay: cold) welcome in the a.m., when I opened the fridge. Sweet coconut chocolate pieces of heaven! I don’t know how I managed to do so, but I kept them in an airtight container in my cool bag the whole dang day and only ate them as a dessert at my mom’s place later that day. That’s right, I love to share my healthy stuff! 😉

 I often bring dessert on my weekly Tuesday night dinners with mom. So safe to say she’s one of the first hand test persons for all my clean, sweet kitchen trials.  Well anyways: She liked them. So they’re mommie proof! 😉

It’s not because they are clean, nutritious and healthy that you get to eat the whole lot, though. Moderation is key, ladies. Unless it’s that time of the month, than go ahead and grab two pieces. I wont kiss and tell. But to the rest of you a petite warning is in order: they’re still quite big on the calorie department. So you don’t get to eat an endless amount. However, you WILL notice a difference if you would devour the same amount of calories from a plain unhealthy brownie (don’t!). Bloated belly much?

Ok, enough with the health bla-di-bla. Without any further ado the recipe to your chocolate happiness:

You’ll need

  • 250g of pitted medjool dates
  • 200g of walnuts (or pecans)
  • 50g raw cacao
  • 50g shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp Himalaya pink salt
  • 2tbsp of water

Directions

Add the walnuts to a food processor and shred them until they turn to flour. Add the dates to the nut flour and mix/shred.

Now add the coconut, cacao, pink salt and maple syrup to the food processor and mix with the walnuts and dates.

Add some water to make them moist.  After a while you’ll receive a big sticky chunk of brownie dough.

Add a baking sheet in a brownie mold and add the dough to it. Press the batter in the shape.

Add some shredded coconut on top to finish and put in the fridge for about an hour, or overnight, like I did.

* Servings: Depends on how big you want your pieces, but I had about 12. According to my calculations that would be about 228 kcal per brownie. Perf with a cup of tea as a small dessert or could work as a 10 o’clock snack (it sure worked for me).

** If you prefer your brownies fresh out of the oven but clean, this recipe might work for you too.

Enjoy!

Xo, Kirsten

Skinny sticky brownies

One thought on “Sticky and skinny brownie bars

Leave a Reply

