Skinny sizzling chicken pesto pasta

Skinny Italian Pasta

I’m back!

I’ve been wandering around Italy – Tuscany and Umbria to be precise – these past two weeks. So I haven’t been blogging for a while. No worries, you’ll get a well documented must-eat blog about the places I visited in the near future. 😉

Needless to say I ate my way through the country. I mean… I. Ate. A. Lot. And I’m not even sorry because I loved everything I put in my mouth. God I love Italian food! (especially the dolci and the bucket loads of carbs).

I was a tad bit apprehensive to step on a scale upon arriving home. Luckily, it wasn’t all that bad after all. Ok. I’ll be blatantly honest here… I added 2 kg. BUT, 4 days later (like, we’re talking today) they’re already goners. How? By eating super clean these past 4 days and doing my own detox (and with lots of running and planking and push ups).

Anyhow, this was one of my ‘detox’ recipes. It’s a golden oldie that my mom used to prepare on fridays. With pasta though. I decided to make a skinny version with courghetti (zoodles) this time. But believe you me, you won’t miss the pasta. This is such a delish’ tastebut sizzling pasta! I can do detox for weeks and weeks with these kind of dishes… ESP when they still remind me a of Italian cuisine in one way or another.

You’ll need (serves 2, about 350 kcal pp)

  • 2 large zucchini’s
  • 2 tbsp pesto (I bought readymade pesto, but prepare your own if you prefer that)
  • 2 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • 20 sundried tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp pine nuts
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (or olive oil)
  • 250g to 300g chicken breast

Directions

Add a pan on a high heat with some coconut oil.

Cut the chicken into small pieces and add to the pan. Season with salt and pepper and bake until golden and brown.

When the chicken is almost done, turn down the heat a bit and add the pine nuts and sundried tomatoes for a minute or two (just to give it some heat.

Prep the courghetti -> recipe can be found here (easy peasy!).

Add the pesto to the courghetti and stir so all noodles are covered with pesto.

Now serve the courghetti with the chicken, sundried tomatoes and pine nuts and add some grated parmesan on top. You can finish it off with some basil leaves.

So so so good and so so so bikini body proof!

xo, Kirsten

Skinny Italian Pasta     DSC_0001

One thought on “Skinny sizzling chicken pesto pasta

Leave a Reply

