Baked Oatmeal

Bakes Oats

I love oats for breakfast.

Though I never really eat them in a ‘traditional’ way. Ya know. Where you add some oats to a small pan with (almond) milk on a medium heat and stir until they’re done. Ain’t got no time for that. And I don’t like the glue-like texture it gets.

I do – on the other hand – LOVE pan baked oats. It’s my basic breakfast that I’ll eat about 5 times a week. And whenever I’m in a hurry I’ll prepare overnight oats to have a quick breakfast option in the morning. Because skipping breakfast is a no go. Not even when in a hurry! It’s your fuel for the day. You’ll feel crappy, tired and you’ll probably be in a bad mood when you skip the breakie.

So, when I found this oven baked recipe I couldn’t wait to make my own version. And it’s good. I’ve eaten it two days straight. It’s rainy days breakfast perfection and a great kick start for your sweet tooth. 😉

It tastes like apple pie. (and your whole house will smell like apple pie when it’s baking) It takes some time to prepare, but whilst in the oven you can take a shower or do a small yogamat workout. 25 minutes well spend in my opinion.

You’ll need (serves one, about 420 kcal)

  • 40g of Quaker Oats
  • 120ml almond milk (or any other milk/water of choice)
  • 1 tsp of maple syrup or agave syrup
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple (I used a granny smith, but you could use a red apple too)
  • 10 black raisins

Directions

Preheat your oven to 180°C.

Add the oats, almond milk, maple syrup, cinnamon, raisins, banana and apple to an oven bowl and stir.

Put in the oven for about 25 minutes. (Enjoy the apple pie smell spreading through your house)

Serve with a hot cup of tea and a freshly squeezed orange juice on the side ;).

 

Good morning! 😉

xo, Kirsten

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

