Skinny pizza

Cauliflower Pizza

I was supposedly going to eat pizza for lunch with some colleagues last week. Sadly it turned out I had a lunch meeting slash brainstorm with sandwiches. So I had to skip the pizza.

Mmkay. So I had food. Sandwiches. (with butter, yuk!) My tummy was filled. But boy did I have a pizza crave the whole dang day. And since I was home alone, I couldn’t suggest to anyone to go out to grab a bite to eat at, let’s say, a pizzeria?

And then it came to me. For weeks I’ve been meaning to try the ‘clean’ pizza recipe that’s been booming across several ‘healthy’ blogs. The cauliflower pizza. I had every ingredient that was needed in my fridge. So perfection. A clean pizza. Like, meet my crave and remain healthy? LOVE. Needles to say I was game and forgot all about my ‘actual’ pizza crave.

Somewhat of a warning is in order though. It’s nothing like an actual Italian pizza. And you’ll still taste cauliflower. Obvi. But I’m always so proud and happy when I made a healthy, skinny swap, that I don’t miss the real deal for a sec. If that doesn’t work for you, just go ahead and eat your whole day worth of calories, fatty pizza. I’ll be the one looking ab fab in my bikini bod this summer thanks to my skinny pizza 😉 (I wish, really. Work in progress though)*. So here we go, Pizza Italiano a la clean.

You’ll need (serves one person)

For the crust:

  • Cauliflower (I used about 150g for one small pizza)
  • 1/2 egg (whisk it first, then you’ll be able to use half)
  • 60g of mozzarella (I used plain, you can use light too. To make it extra light)
  • Oregano
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil

Toppings: (this is only a suggestion)

  • tomato sauce*
  • feta cheese (or parmesan cheese, I did not have any in the fridge)
  • basil leaves
  • Optional: tuna, veggies, italian ham, olives,…

*Make your own tomato sauce! It’s easy peasy: add a small pan to a medium heat. Chop an onion and some garlic and add to the pan. Now cut some tomatoes into chunky pieces and add to your pan. Season with salt and pepper, paprika powder and some harissa or some spicy curry. Leave to simmer and mix. Done.

Directions

Preheat your oven to 200°C.

Add the cauliflower to a food processor and shred until it looks like rice.

Pop the cauliflower rice in an microwave safe bowl and put in the the microwave for 8 minutes.

Now put the ‘rice’ on a kitchen towel and try to squeeze some water out (this way, you’ll crust will become extra crunchy), put the rice back in the bowl together with mozzarella and egg. Now mix with a fork (or with your hands) until you get something that looks like dough.

Put a baking sheet on an oven tray. Add the cauliflower dough on top and form a pizza with your hands. Sprinkle some olive oil on top.

Put in the oven for 20 minutes.

Now prepare your toppings. You’ll need to cook and grill everything because the toppings will only be in the oven for a few minutes. (for example, if you crave asparagus on top, you might want to grill them first)

After 20 minutes remove the oven tray from the oven and add the toppings.

Add a thin layer of tomato sauce first (too much sauce won’t do much good to your cauliflower crust), add some cheese and top with your veggies. I only added basil and feta cheese. I’ll go more adventurous next time. I promise.

Pop the tray back in the oven for another 5 minutes.

And then: eat your heart out on this skinny pizza treat!

Bon appetito.

Believe you me, you girls will love this. It”s the bomb.com.

xo, Kirsten

*Oh and just so you know. In three weeks, I’ll be eating the real deal for 14days straight. I’m leaving for two weeks in the lovely Italy. Visiting Lake Como, Tuscany and Umbria. And I plan on eating as much pizza, pasta and gelato as I possibly can. No worries. I plan on packing my yoga mat and running shoes.

Leave a Reply

