Banana bread (I say cake)

Banana bread

I think I just discovered a new favorite dessert. And breakfast. And lunch. And perhaps even dinner. All in one. Banana Bread. I die. It’s that good.

And it’s healthy.

And it’s super sweet.

Colleague treating with cake or pie for their birthday tomorrow? No prob. Just grab a piece of your ab fab banana bread and you won’t mind skipping a bite of that nasty calorie bomb cake for one bit. I did that exact thing today. And I did not crave the chocolate cake or apple and cinnamon cake once. Ok. Maybe once. But then I had my banana bread to the rescue. Heaven.

I’m a cake fan. I love to cheat with a big piece of (dry) cake. So, this ‘bread’ (I say cake) is perf.

I made it in a quick last minute rush the night before – and off course took a petite bite while it was still hot an gewy – to keep my munchies in check the day after. Best. Decision. Of the week.

I did underestimate the amount of banana needed in the recipe. We had two ripe bananas at home. But apparently you easily need three to receive 300g of banana (I got up to 250g with my three bananas. No prob. Tastes great). Eh. Let’s say we’re out of bananas ATM.

But, without any further ado I present you my healthy cake option. And you may want it for breakfast with some fresh fruit too. Just saying.

You’ll need (calories: see below*)

  • 140g spelt flour
  • 100g self-raising flour (baking powder)
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 300g ripe banana
  • 3 eggs
  • 150ml greek yoghurt
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (or agave syrup, or honey) > add more if you’re a huge sweet tooth. Mind that bananas are the sweetest too!
  • 1 tbsp stevia
  • 100g blueberries
  • Pecans for topping. Or coconut/almond slices

Directions

Preheat your oven to 160°C.

Mix your dry ingredients: flour, self-raising flour, salt and stevia.

Mix your wet ingredients in another bowl: mashed bananas, greek yoghurt, eggs and maple syrup.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients in one bowl. And carefully add the blueberries true the batter.

Add the mixture in a cake mold which you’ve greased with some coconut oil. Put some pecans (or any other topping you crave) on top.

Leave in the oven for about an hour an 10 minutes. Keep an eye on it though.

I promise, you’ll love me for sharing this recipe!

xo, Kirsten

One thought on “Banana bread (I say cake)

  1. Maybe try coconut flour, possibly even less calories?
    You can also use bicarbonate, instead of “self-rising flour (to avoid the gluten).
    The baking soda typically need acid to work. I assume it get’s that from the banana and the yoghurt. I sometimes add vitamine C, ascorbine acid (simply ask in the pharmacy, you buy it by the gram).

Leave a Reply

