Healthyfied ketchup love

Healthy ketchup

I don’t know why I didn’t think of this any sooner!

I made my own, healthy (Like du-uh) ketchup last weekend.

And it was grrrreat. Ask the boyfriend, he loved it too. And he’s usually a hand-me-the-mustard-please-babe kind of guy.

I used to accompany ketchup with everything. Really everything. I adored that sweet red sauce as if my life depended on it. Serious Heinz addict.

I ate it with croque monsieur, burgers, French fries, sandwiches and I might even have added some to my spaghetti Bolognese sauce every once in a while. Mmkay, always.

So needless to say it was a heartfelt goodbye after I decided to skip unhealthy, badass sugary stuff in my daily diet. Like, you got that right, ketchup. So I said buh-bye to Heinz and welcomed Balsamic vinaigrette in my life when craving a sweety sauce.

So, last Saturday we had chicken pita burgers on the menu. And I didn’t feel much for the tzatziki sauce that’s supposed to go along. I craved ketchup. Craved it real bad. And all of a sudden it hit me, why not simply make my own?! Actually easy peasy, or so it seemed after some in-depth google research.

I promise you this: you’ll never ever want bottled, processed, sugary, crappy, bad-ass ketchup after a bite of this one.

You’ll need:

  • cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar (preferably organic)
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • Some stevia
  • 1 tbsp of maple syrup (or agave syrup or raw honey)
  • 1 tsp himalayan pink salt (or sea salt)
  • Optional: powdered chia seeds (put chia seeds in a blender) for thickening

Directions:

Put a small pan on a heat with a little bit of coconut oil (or olive oil) and add the cherry tomatoes.

Add the cinnamon, stevia, apple cider vinegar, maple syrup and salt. I have to admit the amounts above are a wild guess. lets just say I tasted my way true the seasoning. You can go as sweet as you want by adding more or fewer seasoning. Entirely up to you.

* if you want a thick sauce you can add some chia seeds too

Leave to simmer until the tomatoes start to melt and become a paste.

Blend them and leave to simmer for a few more minutes.

Let it cool and put in the fridge for later.

Serve with anything that works with ketchup. And that’s a lot. You know the drill!

Bon appetit sauce lovers.

xo, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

