Coco Cubes

DSC_0019

I don’t like coconut water.

But I’m such a sucker for anything ‘healthy’, so I really (really, really) want to like coconut water. But as of today, it still tastes like water with a package of funky tasting sugar inside to me. And, I sure love things sweet. But let’s just say this isn’t my kind of sweet.

Now, you might wonder why I want to like coconut water and why it’s any healthier than plain water?

Well…

First things first: I often get sick and tired of my daily doses of water. (8 glasses, pfeww) Because, let’s stay honest it does not taste ‘good’. It tastes like nothing. And sometimes I want some taste when I drink. Enters: bucket loads of green tea or apple & cinnamon tea. But I don’t want tea when it’s 25°C out. Enters: homemade lemonade, or this one (I’m not going to drink the sicky store bought kind with processed sugar). But that’s so much fuzz for a quick drink. So. Coconut water. Would be perf. If it wasn’t for the yuckie taste.

And it’s not only a different taste I crave. Coconut water – not to be confused with coconut milk – is super healthy and good for your bod. ESP after a morning cardio sesh, usually the time when I tend to drink it. Let me break it down to you why you should start drinking coconut fluids rather today than tomorrow:

It’s a natural sports drink. The reason I ALWAYS drink it after my morning jog session or evening yogamat toning sessions. Coconut water is also known as ‘the natural Gatorade’ for its high levels of electrolytes and minerals. Exactly what you sweat out during physical activity. That’s why re-hydrating is essential when excersising. Many sports drinks say they’ll replenish those electrolytes, but they’re ‘added’. Along with a lot of sugar. Y’all don’t want processed sugar in that wannabe toned bod of yours! So: grab a coconut water, the natural sports drink, for a electrolyte and mineral replenish after you break a sweat. And done.

But, that’s not the only reason I’m promoting coconut water (if only I was paid to say this 😉 ).  This fruit water also contains calcium, potassium, magnesium, vitamins, NATURAL sugars and proteins (another thing you’ll need after a workout). It has been sad to help hydrate, cool body temperature and maintain immune system balance.

It’s also been said to aide a body’s immune system when fighting cancer, diabetes and even AIDS. But I have not done any ‘in depth’ research about that, so I wouldn’t just believe those statements without any further research or scientific reports on that matter. Then again: I don’t think it hurts to drink it. Better than diet coke to say the least!

It also supposedly settles the stomach when feeling nausea. So. Hangover cure!

Anyhow, I found a way to enjoy coconut water without a prob. Behold: coconut water ice cubes.

I’ll add two or three to my glass of water after my workout. And it’s delish’. Exactly what I crave. Not plain water, but water with a little splash of sweetness without the funky taste from plain coconut water. Easy peasy.

Oh. And I may or may not add some coco cubes to my cocktails too. And to my lemonade. Hey. It’s good so it’s okay. Mmkay?

(Oh. and I ‘love’ Vita Coco)

Bottoms up!

DSC_0024

Leave a Reply

