Thai beef salad

spicy thai beef salad

Sometimes, my inner rabbit screams for greens. Enters: a salad for dinner. IDC if it’s a super summer kind of dinner in the midst of winter >> I eat enough mash things and oven roasted dins to mix it up with a salad every once in a while. And uh, since Belgium had the hottest 8th of March in like ever (yeh, records fell. 19°C during winter. I luv it), a salad couldn’t be more appropriate.

Now. I know the basic salad is usually accompanied by fish. Chicken. Or shrimp/prawns. This time, I chose steak. ‘Thai beef salad’ always makes me mouthwater – before I even see the actual result – when stumbled upon on a lunch menu. So. Um. How about I try to make my own version for dinner. Spicey and sweet at the same time to me is like: bring. It. On.

This is perf’ after a munch-weekend with lots of family dinners and restaurant date nights. A regular weekend to me. Kind of.

Which makes most Mondays the usual sorry-but-not-so-sorry-I-ate-THAT-much-yesterday-and-the-day-before kind of dinners. In that case, I present you: thai beef salad. And I may or may not accompanied that with my healthy lemonade on the side.

Mmkay. Here you go my little munchers:

You’ll need (serves two)

  • 300g steak
  • 1 pomegranate
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • Salad (pick your fave)
  • 4 to 6 tbsp roasted sesam oil
  • 3 lemons, juiced
  • 1/2 red chili pepper
  • 1 handful of cilantro
  • Pink Himalayan sea salt
  • Black pepper
  • Stevia (or sugar)

Directions

Bake your beef for about three minutes on each side (or more, if you prefer it well done). After, cover your pan with some tin foil and leave to rest.

Meanwhile, prep your salad.

Cut up your bell pepper. I baked it for a few minutes on a medium heat in a grill pan. But raw works too. Remove the pits from the pomegranate. I gathered the juice from the pomegranate too, in a bowl.

Remove the white seeds from the chili pepper (unless you love spicy. Like. Real spicy) and chop the pepper finely. Add them to the pomegranate juice bowl. Chop the cilantro and mix together with the chili-pomegrante juice together with the lime juice, sesame oil and Himalayan salt and pepper. Add some stevia to taste. If you like things spicy, you wont need much sweetness so be gentle with the stevia (or sugar). I think I added a good teaspoon.

Slice the steak. Add on top of your salad. Now add the sauce and put the pomegranate seeds on top.

This salad is the bomb.com. Light and super summer.

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

