Turkey and sweet potato curry

Turkey and sweet potato curry

My bucket list contains a Thailand trip bullet point. Def because it’s supposed to be beautiful down there but, my main reason is because I love Thai food. I mean. They use peanut butter in their recipes. Omigod. And cashews. Lots of cashews. Obvi I adore going out to a Thai restaurant. There’s this place near by where I live that serves chicken with cashews and pineapple. I die. So good. Not to mention their recipes with yoghurt.

So. Whenever they opt mingling sweet potato with spicy ingredients… I’m game. Spices and sweet flavors were meant to date. Duh.

My mom used to make this recipe on sundays. Preferably with ‘Naan’ bread on the side. Another thing I love about Thai kitchen. That bread. Like honestly, all those herbs topped on a soft piece bread are dang addictive. So, I kind of ‘forgot’ to buy the bread to go a long with the dish. Might have been because I can’t stop eating it. Like I have no self control whatsoever. (I don’t. I really don’t. Keep me away from all things bread.)

So. To all Thai food lovers out there: you’re gonna LOVE this one. Oh and, needless to say it’s healthy. Always! πŸ˜‰

You’ll need (serves 2 people, about 480 kcal pp)

  • 300g turkey breast filet, cut into small pieces
  • 400g sweet potato
  • 20 cl chicken broth
  • 100g frozen spinach (I used the Iglo cubes)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cilantro

For the marinade:

  • 2 tsp thai curry paste
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp stevia (or sugar)
  • 10 cl coconut milk
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 red chili peppers

Mingle all marinade ingredients without the lemon juice. Add the turkey breast pieces. Put in the fridge for about an half an hour.

Peel the sweet potatoes and cut into pieces. Boil them for a little while, I went for 10 minutes, in slightly salted water.

Remove the turkey from the marinade and stir fry until they look golden and brown in a deep pan or wok pan. Add the potatoes, the chicken broth and what’s left of the marinade with de defrosted spinach. Eh, so basically almost everything left on the kitchen counter! πŸ™‚ Leave to simmer for another 10 minutes, Attention SIMMER, it should not boil!

Add the lemon juice and season to taste with salt and pepper and some chopped cilantro.

Done.

Serve with some fresh cilantro on top for a pretty presentation. And I promise you, you’ll want to eat this every sunday. With or without ‘naan’ bread on the side…

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

