Papardelle amore mio

Papardelle with cantharelles

I adore Papardelle. Real adoration. I kid you not. If I do eat pasta, it’ll better (preferably) be papardelle, because it’s my favorite kind. It’s yum!

I know what you’re thinking now though: Is it healthy? Nope. Is it good for your (my) mental health? Def. Everyone needs a huge-ass treat every once in a while. Not daily. Just, you know… Every once.

The best way to eat it, in my opinion, is with some sort of stew. (I could eat the ‘papardelle with lamb ragout’ they serve at the Italian around my corner on a daily base. It’s the best thing ever.) This time however, I chose to make it veggie proof. I believe one day a week should be veggie. Just because you can, and just because it’s a teeny environmental step that can make a huge difference. That is, if everyone would do it. My veggie day usually starts with my yoghurt parfait, for lunch I’ll make a fig and feta salad and for dinner, well, this is a dang great option. It’s not that hard, especially with such good recipes to get through your veggie day. πŸ˜‰ YOU CAN DO IT peeps. Really. You can.

You’ll need (Servers two people, about 605 kcal pp)

  • 30g Walnuts
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • parsley
  • basil
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 200g of cantharelles (a mushroom kind)
  • 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil
  • 200g of papardelle
  • 2 tbsp of parmesan cheense
  • oregano

Directions

First off rinse and wash the cantharelles thoroughly. They are usually fresh picked and might still carry some sand or tree a long. No good. Make sure you tap them dry afterwards with a kitchen towel or some kitchen paper.

Add the nuts and garlic (pressed) to a pan with olive oil on a medium heat. Stir fry for a minute. Add the cantharelles to the pan and put on a higher heat for about two minutes. Add salt and pepper. Meanwhile cook the pasta.

Now add the spinach and pasta and stir for another minute. Add the basil leaves and parsley to finish.

Serve with some parmesan cheese. A big tablespoon of parmesan cheese. Maybe even two. But hey, completely up to you!

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

