French toast with berries and banana

French toast

So. I ran 7,5 km this morning. Not that I want to brag or anything (I totally do!), but I’m so dang proud of myself. This time last year, a 1 km run outside totally wore me out and I looked like an elephant who was trying to run elegantly down the streets. Thinking I was Jane Fonda, I think I came closer looking like some sort of female Al Bundy trying to do some sports. Major fail. So, babysteps, this morning I said buh-bye to my regular 5 km run and now I’m part of the 7K club. Is there such a club? Because I’m DEF allowed to join. 🙂 I was on a roll and I think I could have easily made it to 8 km or maybe even 9 (dare I say 10?) BUT my loving BF already finished his run long before me (I said I ran long, never mentioned I was fast. And I wasn’t. Really. I wasn’t – Babysteps remember) and he was patiently waiting for me so we could prepare a big-ass sunday morning breakfast together. Which was well deserved after such a great run. So. Um. I added extra sweetness as a little treat to myself! 🙂 Anyhow, we made this french toast – In Belgium we call it ‘lost bread’ because you use the old bread leftovers from your cabinet – which was the bomb.com. Yum. So next time you guys go for a run, this recipe can be your post-workout treat!

You’ll need (serves one, about 445 kcal)

  • 75g almond milk (Or plain milk)
  • 1 egg
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • Stevia
  • 2 slices of bread (In total I had 50g)
  • Agave syrup
  • 100g mixed frozen berries
  • 1 big-ass tbsp of home made Nutella
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

Directions

Whisk together the almond milk with the egg.  Add the vanilla extract, cinnamon and half a tsp of stevia (or more if you prefer it sweeter). Put your bread in the mixture and leave for a while.

Add a pan on a medium heat with some coconut oil. Add one slice of bread and bake for a minute or two until golden and brown. Flip and repeat on the other side. Set aside on a plate while you do the same with the other slice of bread. I chose to cut them in triangles, I believe bread tastes better triangle shaped. I’ve made it a point to eat them in triangles whenever I can. (And I try to make my BF do it too)

Now slice your banana in half and add to the pan. Sprinkle some cinnamon on top. Add the mixed berries around (not on top) your banana together with some more stevia. What can I say, I love my berries as sweet as possible! Flip the banana and also bake the other side. Now cut up with a wooden spoon and mix with the berries.

Put the warm berries and banana on top of your bread and add some agave syrup (told ya I was going extra extra dang sweet as a treat. Sorry not so sorry.) and add a big-ass tablespoon of home made Nutella on the side.

Yum.

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

