Healthy ‘Nutella’ chocolate spread

Healthy Nutella

When I saw this on my Pinterest wall I almost jumped for joy (ok, I actually jumped for joy). I know a lot of people are like ‘when I cheat, I’ll do it with the real deal’, but I’m more of a ‘I want to cheat as often as possible without actually cheating’ kind of girl. So. That’s why I’m always testing ‘healthy’ cupcake and pancake recipes, where you swap unhealthy stuff with healthy stuff as much as you possibly can. (more to come soon) I physically can’t handle one cheat day a week. So I ‘cheat’ on a daily base. With an occasional true cheat day. Hey, you have to live a little! A LITTLE that is. πŸ™‚

This recipe is sooo easy peasy and quick, nobody should ever be occupied for too long to make anything chocolate, Β (and it’s so good it hurts!) I had to share it with you guys before me ever even thinking of sharing any other wannabe healthy and sweet recipe (you may thank me later). I have to warn you though… If you expect it to taste exactly like store bought Nutella, you’ll be disappointed and should stick to the real thing. But, if you expect it to taste like a yum chocolate spread that will sooth your sweet tooth and will keep you from feeling like a nasty little candy devouring future fat human being (k, I might be exaggerating a tiny bit here): this is your recipe!

Since it still contains a nutty flavor (I never taste the hazelnut in Nutella, do you?) – think nutbutter – I’ve been eating it with my yoghurt. Each morning. Since I first made it the past weekend. But, I’ve tried it on a piece of bread too – a.k.a. took a big ass bite from my boyfriends sandwich (Jup, that’s how I roll: ‘Low’ carb-eater on paper, but steal them occasionally from my significant other) – and it tasted great! The boyfriend has been eating spoonfuls (literally) out of the jar, so safe to repeat myself once more and say the taste is utterly delish’! πŸ™‚

You’ll need:

  • 115g hazelnuts
  • 10g cocoa
  • 75 ml almond milk
  • Stevia (I can’t tell you the exact amount, I added to taste. I added a lot. :))
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla powder
  • 1 tbsp agave syrup (or honey, whatever you prefer. But I suggest you try agave. Du-uh :).)
  • Pinch of seasalt

Directions:

Start by blending the hazelnuts with almond milk in a food processor until it looks like a paste (you know, no more visible nuts in the paste). Add the other ingredients and mix them until they look like a chocolate spread to you. You might want to add some extra almond milk during the process. I did. Because it didn’t look ‘smooth’ enough to me. Like I said, you can add more cocoa or stevia or agave too if you want. Just taste. A lot. πŸ™‚ It’s the easiest way to make sure it’s sweet enough!

Put in an airtight jar (maybe an old Nutella jar? And eat it as if it’s the real deal like it’s nobody’s business) and done!

Bon appetit dear sweet teeth! (again: you may thank me later!)

xo Kirsten

One thought on “Healthy ‘Nutella’ chocolate spread

  1. Pingback: French toast | Cupcakes and Beans

Leave a Reply

