Cod and parsnip broccoli mash

cod and mash

I love cod. Like love love love. Easy as that. I’m generally a huge ass fish fan anyhow, but cod has a special place on my fish-longlist.

It all started back in the day (uhu, I’m flagrantly taking you on a trip down my memory lane) when my mom and dad took me to a restaurant with a kid-proof menu and I didn’t even glance at it as soon as I found out there was ‘that’ white fish on the menu. I never really seemed to like the typical ‘spaghetti bolognese’ and ‘fries with chicken’ options they usually serve children. But I mean, why do they always assume that kids only eat spaghetti or fries? Gag me. It’s kinda true though, most kids will prefere these two options when asked what their favorite food is, but why not simply serve them a smaller portion of an adult option? They eat it at home, so they’ll eat it out too? Won’t they? (I bet all mommies out there who are reading this are sitting there going all ‘why don’t you just wait ’till you got kids of your own and see if they want to eat cod fillet instead of french fries. Like. Good. Luck. Phewww.)

Anyhow, I kind of lost my preference for cod on restaurant night outs during the next years and tended to lean more towards the pasta options on menus (I mean, eventhough I avoid it at home I truly heart pasta. Truly.). But I do need a cod fillet recipe on the menu {in my life} at home every once in a while. AND I need fish on the menu on a weekly base. So besides the obvi tuna, shrimp and salmon, cod is a great fish too.

Ok. So. This is plain and simple. We do not want to spoil the fish by adding one too many ingredients or flavors. This really is weekday dinner perfection. Because honestly, nobody likes to cook for hours after a day at the office. (not so much of a kitchen princess after all, am I?)

You’ll need (serves 2 people, 370 kcal pp)

  • 300g cod fillet
  • 2 parsnips
  • 1 broccoli
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • salt and pepper
  • nutmeg

Directions

Steam the parsnip and broccoli for about 10 minutes in a steamer. If you don’t own a steamer (eh. You should own a steamer), you can cook them in some salted water.

Meanwhile add a large pan to a medium heat with some coconut oil (Don’t you ever put olive oile on a high heat. Ever. It’s bad. Remember?). Add the cod fillet and season with salt and pepper. Bake for a few minutes on each side.

Add the parsnip and broccoli and parsnip in a pot. Season with salt and pepper and some nutmeg. Mix until you have a mash (I swear to you it looks like mashed potatoes. Carb swaps for the win).

Fill a kitchen ring on your plate with the mash and add the cod fillet on top. Add some more pepper. Serve. Enjoy.

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

One thought on “Cod and parsnip broccoli mash

Leave a Reply

