Thai chicken with Mango

Thai chicken and mango

 

My boyfriend came home with two mangoes past Friday. Because it was buy one, get two. Great. I love mango for breakfast and for dessert. This time though, we decided to use one for dinner. With chicken. So, I went online to look for some recipes combining those two ingredients. Found one, we pimped it a bit and: The result was amazing. The easiest Thai dish ever whilst still looking as if a lot of work had happened. (I usually think that whenever sauce is involved)

Another great find is that I finally decided to combine it with cauliflower rice. I’ve been meaning to try this carb swap for ages, and It was surprisingly good. It helps – off course – that I’m quite the cauliflower fan. Because don’t be fooled, it looks like rice, but tastes like cauliflower. The only thing it really does is that it gives the same texture in your mouth like rice. Which I love. But in any case, you can combine this recipe with rice OR with cauliflower rice. (needless to say we made both versions, cauliflower for me, and rice noodles for the BF. But, he loved the cauliflower too after a good spoonful to taste)

You’ll need:

  • 2 chicken breasts (300g)
  • 1 mango
  • 1 coconut creme can
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 300g cauliflower
  • Pepper
  • small piece of ginger
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil or coconut oil
  • 1 onion

Directions (serves two, about 543 kcal pp)

♡ Being a self-professed carb swap lover, I was pleased to notice Cauliflower rice is really easy to prepare. (quicker than preparing normal rice. Hah!) Watch out with amounts though. At first I chose 200g of cauliflower, but when I was cutting it in to pieces it didn’t seem like a lot (and I love to eat big, so the teeny tiny amount of cauliflower flowers looked a bit sad to me). So I added another 50g – which still didn’t look like much – and added the pieces to the food processor. Once shredded I got a huge amount of cauliflower rice. Realy, it was such a pile! So, I guess 200g was more than enough for one. 150 might have done the trick as well :). Lesson learned for next time. I ended up throwing away most of it. I still have half a cauliflower left in my fridge. I might end up as a 4 o clock snack or as another cauliflower side sometime this week. ♡

Now start the thai wok.

Start by peeling and slicing an onion.

Cut your chicken breast in to small pieces. Add a large wok pan to a high heat with some coconut oil (or olive oil) and add the chicken until it looks golden and brown.

Add the onion and a pressed garlic clove. Also add the ginger, peeled and cut up or pressed into small pieces.

Add one carton of coconut creme with a good amount of curry powder, season with salt and pepper too. Let it simmer for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile peel and slice the mango into thin slices. Add them to the wok and leave to simmer for another 5 minutes.

Heat a large pan on a medium heat with coconut oil. Add the cauliflower rice and stir until it’s soft but still has some bite. Add some coriander to the chicken and mango right before serving.

Et voila. Easy peasy (yummy) thai food.

Bon appétit.

Xo, Kirsten

4 thoughts on “Thai chicken with Mango

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower rice | Cupcakes and Beans

Leave a Reply

