The perfect bolognese sauce

Bolognese

The days where I ate spaghetti Bolognese with bucket loads of ketchup on top are far (okay, maybe not that far) behind me.

I never seemed to like that traditional Italian dish. Which is odd, because your everyday child will probably put it on their ‘favorite food’ list. It wasn’t on mine, but I slowly got into it thanks to my dear old friend mr. Heinz. Nowadays me and mr. Heinz don’t tend to join forces as much anymore…

At the moment I prefer my bolognese sauce natural and sugar free. And – you could have known – as healthy as possible. So luckily for me, my mom and dad learned me the perfect spaghetti Bolognese recipe (healthyfied with a cupcakesandbeans touch, hence theย home made mince). It’s not the ‘real deal’, because a real Italian wouldn’t even consider adding carrots or mushrooms. But hey, I’m only a pretend Italian. So I’m allowed to add whatever the hell I want. Enter: the veggies! ๐Ÿ™‚

I went low carb this time and chose courghetti (zoodles) instead off pasta. The boyfriend did go spaghetti all the way. Just one extra pot that needs a clean afterwards, but otherwise: no prob!

You’ll need (serves 2 people, about 495 kcal pp IF you go courghetti instead of pasta!)

For the tomato sauce:

  • 2 shallots
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 4 tomatoes
  • a pinch of bell pepper powder
  • a pinch of harissa
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  • 3 carrots
  • 200g of button mushrooms

For the minced meat:

  • 150g porc fillet
  • 150 veal fillet
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  • (or you can buy some readymade minced meat)

Directions:

First prepare your tomato sauce. Cut up one shallot into small pieces and peel and press a garlic clove. Fry them in a small pot in some coconut oil until it looks glaze. Cut up your tomatoes. Doesn’t matter if they’re still a bit chunky. Add the with the garlic and shallot. Season with salt and pepper, a pinch of bell pepper powder and some harissa. To taste, you can spice things up as much as you please. Let it simmer for a while. Mix the lot until you get a sauce texture.

Now prepare your minced meat. You can find a ‘how to’ here. Fry in a large pan and add to your tomato sauce once it’s done.

Cut up a shallot into small pieces. Heat a large pot (I used my ‘Le Creuset) with some coconut oil on a medium fire. Add the shallot.ย Peel the carrots and cut them up into small slices. Add them with your shallot when it looks glaze. Season with some salt and pepper. Clean the mushrooms and cut them in small pieces. Add them with the carrots. After a few minutes add the tomato sauce with the mince, now let it simmer for a while.

Meanwhile you can start to boil some water for your pasta or you can prepare the courghetti.

Et voila, that’s all there is to it. Oh, maybe one last tip: bolognese sauce tastes a million times better when prepared the day before. ๐Ÿ™‚

Bon appetito!

xo, Kirsten

Bolognese sauce

Leave a Reply

