Zucchini and Shrimp Date

Zucchini shrimp date

I think shrimp and zucchini were made to date on a plate. They match perfectly when put together in a dish. My parents used to combine them with curry and pasta (I’ll try to make it soon and post the recipe here). But I also love to add some tomato to it. The tomato sauce and the way I prepare the zucchini might be familiar, since I usually prepare them in that way. πŸ™‚ But, I’ll gladly write it down again so you can prepare this goodness at home. (And I have to admit that the food in the picture above was prepared by my lover, since I had to work late. I gave him my very best instructions though. So I guess I’m allowed to say it was teamwork?)

You’ll need (serves two people, 290 kcal pp)

  • One yellow onion
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 6 sundried tomatoes
  • Harissa
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 300g shrimp
  • 1 zucchini
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

Directions

Start by adding the olive oil and one garlic clove together in a small bowl. (squeeze the garlic clove or cut up in to really small pieces) Set aside for a while so the garlic can really blend with the olive oil.

Cut up the onion and add to a small skillet on a high heat with some coconut oil. Add the other garlic clove, cut up into small pieces or squeezed. Cut up the tomatoes and add them with the onion once it starts to look glaze. Β Add some salt and pepper to taste and a pinch of harissa. Add sundried tomatoes, you might want to cut them once or twice.

Now slice your zucchini lengthwise into thin slices. Take a spoon or a kitchen brush and rub them in with the olive oil you set aside earlier on. Put a grill pan on a high heat and add the zucchini slices.

Put another pan on a high heat and add the shrimp together with some salt and pepper. Bake for a minute or two on each side.

That’s it. Easy and it is delicious. Like I said before: a food match made in heaven. πŸ™‚

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

One thought on “Zucchini and Shrimp Date

  1. Pingback: Black Olive Tapenade W/Sundried Tomato | Dishing it out with Clarissa

Leave a Reply

