Veggie Omelet

DSC_0014

I try to incorporate a veggie meal/day in my diet every once in a while. I am nowhere near being a vegetarian, but I once read that if everyone did one veggie day a week our environment would improve heaps. So one day a week, doesn’t sound all that hard. Right? Exactly. But, since I passionately hate quorn and tofu  {I’m sorry, I think it all tastes like cardboard and I don’t believe in seasoning the hell out of something just so you wouldn’t taste the original ingredient anymore} I usually base my vegetarian dishes on vegetable and carb combinations. Together with cheese, eggs or lentils and beans.

This, however, is my favorite way of eating eggs for dinner. This recipe is based on one from my mom. I add egg whites to get more eggs without really adding a lot more calories.

You’ll need (makes  two servings, 404kcal pp)

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 (or two) garlic clove
  • Paprika powder
  • Harissa
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 egg whites
  • 300g potatoes

Directions

First peel off the skin from your potatoes and cut them in to small dices.

Add a wok pan on a high heat with some coconut oil* and then add the potatoes. Let them bake for 10minutes. Stir them regularly.

Meanwhile cut up the onion, bell pepper and zucchini into small pieces. Squeeze the garlic clove on top of the potatoes (or slice the garlic into small pieces and add them like that). After 10 minutes you add all the vegetables. Again, stir them regularly.

Whisk together 4 eggs and 4 egg whites in a bowl. Add parsley, cayenne pepper and other spices with salt and pepper to taste.

After 10 to 15 minutes – your vegetables should have softened – poor the egg mixture on top of your vegetables. Stir once so the egg is really mixed with the veggies.

Add the lit to your pan and leave on for about (again) 10 to 15 minutes. I sometimes pinch with my fork so the moist part of the omelet can find it’s way down and cook.

Once your egg is firm and no longer moist, it’s done. Serve while hot! 😉

xo, Kirsten

*Side note: if you’re cooking over high heat, don’t choose olive oil. Olive oil has a lower smoke point – the point at which an oil literally begins to smoke – than some other oils. When you heat olive oil to its smoke point, the beneficial compounds in oil start to degrade, and potentially health-harming compounds form.

Veggie Omelet

One thought on “Veggie Omelet

Leave a Reply

