Avocado mushroom mash with crunchy parma

Avocado mushroom mash

I know most people have a cheat day every once in a while… We’re only human, right? We get to slip every once in a while? Well, it’s fair to say I had a cheat week last week. So I haven’t been able to blog any healthy or good meals. That’s why I haven’t been updating. Because honestly, I didn’t feel all that healthy so I didn’t want to write anything down about food because I spent the week acting like a dang cookie monster. But, this week, I’m back in business. 🙂 Trying to remove the baby fat that’s been quietly but steadily layering around my belly and I’m back with trying to eat clean and detox a little to remove the chocolate overload in my body. (I guess I went all out with the ‘a chocolate a day keeps the doctor away’ thing. Sadly, that quote doesn’t quite have the same effect with zits. I’m currently accompanied with a humongous breakout in my face! Not a pretty sight. :))

That’s why I’m only eating carbs for breakfast and (sometimes) lunch as we speak and I’m sticking to meat and veggies for dinner for a while. Because I know I’m mostly a couch potato during the evenings. So, whenever I don’t have a workout planned, I’ve restricted myself from devouring pasta or potatoes. (During weekends, however, I get to eat it all. IF I run, swim or bike for it off course.)

Tonight we tried yet another low carb recipe that’s based on one from Pascale Naessens new cookbook (puur genieten 2). Needless to say I’m quite the fan. Since the boyfriend doesn’t have any problems with chocolate, he added some potatoes to the dish. I, however, kept the ingredients like written below. 🙂 I know a lot of people are afraid of eating avocado. Don’t be. Even thought they are high in calories, they are actually good for you. I know they are fat fruits, but it’s good fat. Your body needs it. Just like salmon, it provides healthy fats that are way better than butter or high fat dairy products.

You’ll need (serves two, about 419 kcal pp)

  • 1 avocado
  • 4 slices of prosciutto di parma
  • 200g button mushrooms
  • 300g steak
  • 1tsp coconut oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Lemon juice

Directions

Preheat your oven on 180°C and put your prosciutto di parma (or you can always use other dried ham) in an oven tray. Pop in the oven for about 8 minutes until they turn crunchy.

Cut the avocado in half and scoop out the avocado pulp in a big bowl. Add some lemon juice with salt and pepper and mash them together. The lime juice mostly obviates the avocado from turning brown, and gives it a fresh taste.

Meanwhile peel the skin from your mushrooms (or just brush the sand off, don’t wash them!), chop them in to very small pieces and stir fry them. After, mingle them with the avocado mixture.

Bake the steaks on a high heat in a grill pan. Once they are golden and brown turn your heat down a bit and leave them in your pan for another minute on each side. Unless you want them well done, then you’ll have to leave them in a bit longer.

Now use a kitchen ring. Place it on your plate and fill it with the avocado and mushroom mash. Put some of the crunchy parma on top and finish of with a pinch of pepper. Serve with the steak.

I promise, it’s really really good!

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

2 thoughts on “Avocado mushroom mash with crunchy parma

    • Aww, thank you Sarah! I plan on posting ‘healthy chocolate brownies’ tomorrow. So I think you, as a fellow chocolate lover, will definitely love that recipe ;).
      xo Kirsten

Leave a Reply

