Fall perfection: pumpkin soup

20130930-194101.jpg

I love coming home from work and being able to eat a cup of soup before starting to prepare dinner. I am always hungry when I arrive home, so a big pot of soup waiting on the counter for me to arrive is dang great! Since cold days are slightly returning – and I’m starting to long for snuggly blankets, pajama days and loads of tea – I thought it was about time to make a big batch of soup for us to enjoy on weekdays. My favorite soup is pumpkin soup. It’s perfect for this time of year and the slight sweet taste is comforting on cold days. I say: fall perfection! It’s my mom’s recipe, and I’ve loved it ever since I was a kid…

You’ll need

(Difficult to say how many servings, depends on how much take each time :), if you eat it all, it will be 771 kcal, but it will be quite amazing if you can finish the whole lot at once though!)

  • 1kg pumpkin
  • 2 yellow onions
  • 4 carrots
  • 1 tbs Kurkuma
  • Some basil leaves
  • Salt and pepper
  • One chicken broth cube
  • water
  • A small handful of rice

Directions:

cut up your onion, carrots and pumpkin and put them in a large casserole. Add the chicken broth cube and add water until all veggies are covered. Put on a high heat, when the water starts to cook leave to simmer for about a half an hour. Add kurkuma and salt and pepper and the basil leaves. (I often add more once my soup is mixed, because then you can taste)

Mix everything until your soup looks smooth and there are no pieces left. You could sieve it, to make sure your soup is really smooth without any chunks, but I don’t really mind if it isn’t perfect :). Add a handful of rice and leave to cook until the rice is ready (or even longer). I usually add some rice to make my soup a little thicker. I love thick soup, and this is a little trick I learned form my mom to obtain just that!

Et voila, serve extremely hot in a nice bowl. πŸ˜‰

* I usually fill some jars and put them in the freezer. First of all: it’s a lot of soup, and in that way, you can enjoy it for a long winter to come!

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

