Overnight oatmeal

Overnight oats

I’m a morning workout person. When I come home from work, I want food and my couch. I usually don’t want to get in my workout gear and be active. So I make sure I all ready did it in the morning. But hey, do whatevs works for you! Nothing wrong with a late night run. I schedule a workout each morning and set my alarm at 6:30 a.m. (weekdays, I mean). Which means about two out of five times I actually wake up and workout. πŸ™‚ But this works for me, if I would ‘plan’ three workouts, I might only go once. Sew me. So I plan five, sometimes I do make it every day (which is dang great!), sometimes only one.

Anyhow, whenever I come home from an early morning run, I want a quick and nutritious breakfast before leaving for work. But I don’t want to waste too much time on preparing it. And breakfast is essential, in my book, I will not skip it. So, overnight oats are the perfect solution, and it’s delish! Β I first heard about overnight oats via Lauren Conrad (whose blog is one of my daily visits), so this one is based on one of her recipes with some alterations.

You’ll need (makes one serving, 306 kcal)

  • 40g Quaker oats
  • 100ml almond milk (or plain milk)
  • Low fat Greek yoghurt (I use Total 0%)
  • Stevia
  • your favorite fruity toppings
  • pinch of cinnamon

Directions

Put the oats in a jar (or bowl) and add your milk. Now add the greek yoghurt and stir it through your oats and milk. If you like it real sweet, like I do, add some cinnamon and stevia. Now put the lit on your jar, or some foil on top of your bowl, just make sure it’s sealed, and refrigerate the mixture overnight.

The next morning I always add my favorite berries (raspberries/strawberries/blueberries) or some mango or passion fruit with another pinch of cinnamon. Since I usually buy frozen berries, I heat them first in a pan, so it turns out to be some sort of berry sauce. You can also add some honey or agave sirup if you want. Or if you had a very tiring workout, you can add a sliced up banana to get some extra carbs in there. Recently I’ve been adding my healthy Nutella too. Dang great.

Oh, and you will love hearing that this entire recipe contains flat belly foods only. Or at least, that’s what I learned from Laurenconrad.comΒ 

Bon appetit,

xo Kirsten

Leave a Reply

