Spicy chicken pita burgers

Spicy chicken pita burger

I know some of you might have the same reaction to the word ‘hamburger’ like I do… I’m like “whooopie let’s start this cheatmeal Friday!” Ok, so what I’m actually trying to say here is that we usually associate burgers with cheat meals or greasy food. Which is true. And it’s so dang good to cheat with a greasy burger every once in while! But that doesn’t mean you can’t make a healthy version. You all ready know my carb free Portobello burgers. So these aren’t as healthy as those. 🙂 But they are sooo good. Promise. And, thanks to the pita bread, it still feels a little like you feast on a good old cheat meal on a plain weekday.

Oh, and if you were wondering where I go for some real hamburger fun without even thinking about my general health or even worse: my encounter with the scale the next morning… I go to ‘De Burgerij’ in Antwerp. They have thousands of burger options and combinations on their menu and it’s super cosy inside. During summer they set out a big terrace by the water. You feel like you’re dining in the south of France! 🙂

But, for now – and until you pay my lovely hometown a visit – you’ll have to stick with these pita bread ones. Recipe is based on one that I found on Pinterest. {I’m a devoted Pinner, according to me, Pinterest is the best invention ever. You can follow my boards here }

You’ll need (makes 2 servings, 479 kcal pp):

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • 4 whole wheat pita breads
  • 1 Red onion
  • 1 Egg
  • Corriander
  • Mint
  • Harissa
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cucumber
  • Greek yoghurt
  • Two garlic cloves

Directions:

I’ve already talked about how I make my minced meat and why before. So head back a few posts for a ‘how to’ (easily put: mix egg with chicken breast in food processor)

Now chop up your red onion and cilantro. Add it to your minced meat and mix the whole lot together with a pinch of harissa. and a chopped up garlic clove. Turn the mince in to 4 even burgers. Bake them in a grill pan on a medium heat.

Now mix your greek yoghurt with the other garlic clove and mint. This is your sauce guys. It’s the best! Roast the pita bread, add some salad, cucumber with the hamburger and a good scoop of greek yoghurt sauce. Easy. As. That. Feast away!

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

3 thoughts on “Spicy chicken pita burgers

  1. Pingback: Italians do better burgers | Cupcakes and Beans

  2. Pingback: Healthyfied ketchup love | Cupcakes and Beans

Leave a Reply

