Portobello buns

Portobello chicken burger

As you might have read in my about section, I try to only eat carbs once or twice a day. The reason? I’m an ‘apple’ as they say. (with ‘they’, I mean the magazines. Off course.) You know, you’ve got pear-shaped woman, hourglass-shaped woman,… I’m the apple of the bunch. Sadly that’s the least attractive shape in the row (in my opinion). I mean, I love apples – I eat a green one on a daily base – but I do not love them body-type wise! When I gain weight, it goes straight to my tummy area. Not attractive and also the worst place to gain fat… (I could write down all the risks about belly-fats. But you can google it down too, you’ll quickly find epistles about heart risks and diabetes and so on…) So, sadly carbs (and sugar!) aren’t the best option if you’re looking for flat tummy food. On the contrary, carbs and sugar will make your belly feel and look bloated instantly. So: I’m all about carb swaps. What are carb swaps you wonder? Well, just finding a – clean – alternative for your carbs in the recipe (e.g. parsnip mash instead of potato mash, zucchini noodles instead of pasta,…). And anything I can do to make pretend I am eating carbs, I’m game. πŸ™‚ So, after contemplating about it for quite a while now, I finally tried the portobello hamburger bun swap. You know, the huge mushrooms, usually packed by two in the supermarket? I’ve all ready found so many hamburger recipes with them on instagram and all over the internet, but never got to it to give it a try. So, it was about time I did. Especially since I love mushrooms so much.

But, enough ‘health-talk’ (for now), let’s get down to business: I bought a pack of portobellos today and decided to make chicken hamburgers with some leftover minced chicken. I. Loved. It. The recipe is easy peasy, and you can alter it however you want. But this was my version for lunch. (can’t wait to try out all my favorite burger combo’s in the future with the portobello!)

You’ll need (serves one, about 332 kcal)

  • two portobello ‘caps’
  • 125g minced chicken (or one chicken breast shredded with an egg for homemade, clean mince :))
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • cilantro
  • harissa (or anything else to spice things up a bit)
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 1 tablespoon of balsamic cream
  • rocket salad
  • tomatoes (I used cherry tomatoes which I chopped up)

Directions:

First of all, pre heat a grill pan. Off course you can use any ordinary pan, I just love my hamburger and portobello with grill marks. πŸ™‚ Then mix up the minced chicken with a handful of cilantro – chopped – and a pinch of harissa and mold it to one big burger. Season them with salt and pepper too. Β Add some olive oil to the grill and grill the burger and the portobellos together.

foto-2

When your ‘buns’ and your burger are almost done throw in the spinach. You can also keep your greens raw, I prefer my spinach warm and soft :). Now start layering like you would layer a real burger: a portobello, some rocket salad, tomatoes, spinach, the burger, balsamic cream and put the cap portobello on. Done! Enjoy your healthy fast food. πŸ™‚

Bon appetit!

xo, Kirsten

2 thoughts on “Portobello buns

  1. Pingback: Spicy chicken pita burgers | Cupcakes and Beans

  2. Pingback: Meet ‘courghetti’ | Cupcakes and Beans

Leave a Reply

