Banana Pancakes

Image

I’ve thought long and hard about what my first recipe should be. And since I’m writing this on a sunday, why not start off with my favorite sunday breakfast: healthy banana pancakes. I’ve tried various versions, but this version is my fave. I love pancakes, but they’re not all that healthy. So I usually make a healthy version. They’re not like real pancakes, but hey, it’s close and it’s the perfect sweet sunday breakie.

You’ll need (makes about 370kcal):

  • 1/2 banana
  • 20g ground oats (I used a food processor, shred until they look like flour)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 170g low fat, or 0% greek yoghurt
  • Fruit! (whatever you want, I usually go for strawberries and raspberries or mango)
  • Stevia (or any sweetner you like)
  • Cinnamon

Directions

First of all make sure you ground/shred your oatmeal. It had to look like flour. If you don’t have a food processor, try blending? (If that doesn’t work, plain oats will work fine too in the recipe).

Mash your banana and add the egg and two egg whites until you get a clean batter. Add the ground oats and mix it all together. I also add a pinch of cinnamon, because it’s good for your body and tastes delish’!

Heat a pan. Make sure your pan isΒ thoroughlyΒ heatedΒ (you’ll need a hot base to fry the pancakes) before you add some coconut oil (or butter, or olive oil. Whatever you please). After poor in a small amount of batter – think american size pancakes – and wait until they start to look firm before you flip. The ‘flipping’ takes some practice, because they don’t tend to go as smooth as your regular pancakes. I usually ask the boyfriend for some help, but lately I can also manage a perfect flip. Using two spatulas though.

I usually make about four or five pancakes with my batter. It all depends on the size you choose (don’t go too big though, remember the difficult flipping-part).

Now, add some stevia to your greek yoghurt, trust me, the sweeter the better combined with pancakes πŸ™‚ (I use stevia because I’m trying to cut back on sugar – I’ll dedicate a post to this later on – but you can use plain sugar. Or honey or Agave sirup or,… You know where I’m heading). And start layering: pancake + some greek yoghurt + fruit. Until you get a tower of breakfast sweetness.

* I usually eat this breakfast post workout (you can easily make the batter beforehand and leave it in the fridge until you get home from a morning run :)). When I have a lazy sunday and have no intention of working out, I drop the oats and use a whole banana instead. Just as njammie but fewer calories and carbs. Rest stays the same.

Bon Appetit lovelies!

xoxo, Kirsten

2 thoughts on “Banana Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Yoghurt Parfait | Cupcakes and Beans

Leave a Reply

